To upload a file, take the following steps:
1: Connect to a server
2: Next select the files in the local file list (listing of files on your local hard drive or network, by default on the left side).
3: Upload a file in one of three ways:
Click on the transfer button ==> (arrow upper right hand corner of file list)
orDrag the files from the remote file list to the remote file list.
orRight click on the selected files and select upload.
You will then see files begin to transfer.
Because there may be future additions to the methods of uploading, please go to the Core FTP web site and check out the DOCS section. There should also be links to helpful websites on getting you started with transferring files.
You may schedule tasks (sets of transfers) to be run at any time you wish.
To schedule tasks to be run at a future date and time:
1: The computer must be turned on.
2: The MS task scheduler (running by default unless disabled).
3: If you are running NT4/2000/XP, make sure you have the proper permissions to run scheduled tasks, and that the account you are using has a password.
NT 4.0 Notes:
For Windows NT, the ANSI version of Core FTP is recommended.
The 'offline browsing pack' installed from within Internet Explorer Setup (ie6setup.exe).
When entering the user/password, the format should be the following: User - MACHINE_NAME\USER (ie: MYCOMPUTER\MYUSER).
Queue up only *one* transfer for each wildcard type you would like to use (as above, in steps #1 and #2). Once you are in the scheduler, right click on the transfer, select properties, and change the existing filename to the wildcard you wish to use (i.e. *.jpg). Hit OK. You will see the updated wildcard specification that will be used for this scheduled item.
To see changes to the display, hit F5 to refresh.
Scheduling functionality is not available in the "LE" version of Core FTP.
Prompt for file deletion -- When selected, a dialog will prompt you for any files that you are about to delete.
Prompt on exit -- When selected, a dialog will prompt you to exit.
Use Recycle Bin -- Use the recycle bin when deleting files. If not selected, files will be permanently deleted.
Don't prompt on double click -- Option to turn on/off double click menu on file listings.
Treat links as directories -- Set to treat links as directories (and turn off link verification).
Display user in title -- Displays current logged in user at the top of the window.
Prompt for site deletion -- When selected, a dialog will prompt before deletion of sites.
Advanced directory Listings -- If you wish to have advanced directory listings on global, select it here.
Don't display <..> -- Don't display <..> in directory listings.
Prompt on move -- Prompt for moving of files in directory listings.
Fast Mode -- Set transfers for fast mode. Use fast mode at your own risk.
Save filelist sort order -- Saves the current column sort settings in file listings.
Default anonymous password -- This is the password that is used for connections when anonymous information is required.
(This will prevent you from entering it over and over).
Log All Activity -- Will log all transfers to a file. If no path is specified, the file is created in each directory.
Ignore case for file mask -- Will ignore case for file mask (located above directory lists -> default = *)
Show sessions dialog on startup -- If selected, the sessions dialog will appear on startup.
Show site dialog on startup -- If selected, the site dialog will appear on startup.
Quit after scheduled tasks complete -- Select if you wish the program to close after a scheduled task has completed.
Used in conjunction with the Task Scheduler.
Browser Integration -- Choose whether or not to have Core FTP integrated into IE. If Core FTP pops up to transfer files and
you don't want it to, choose no.
Prompt for connect -- If checked, you will be prompted to reconnect when a server disconnects you.
Auto Reconnect -- If checked, you will be reconnected automatically if your connection to a server is lost.
Allow auto password S/Key -- Select if you want your passwords to be automatically encrypted on servers that support password encryption. S/Key password encryption needs to be enabled on the server side.
Cache -- If checked, directory listings will be cached in memory. Caching is only recommended on sites that you use consistantly for downloading archived files. Use the advanced property in the site manager or quick connection screen to set on a per site basis.
Fast Connections -- Fast connection mode. Advanced feature, use at your own risk.
Show connecting window -- Shows the connecting window while connecting (default).
Connection Timeout -- This is the amount of time that the client will wait to connect to a server.
Prompt for disconnect -- Check if you want to be prompted to disconnect from a server
PASV connections on transfers -- Select for PASV (outbound connecting) transfers. See PASV Transfers
Beep on sysop messages -- Select for a beep to occur when a server sends you a sysop message.
Keep Alive -- Sends commands to keep the server connected.
A session is the current list of pending transfers that you are processing or about to process (see Queues).
If you exit out of the program, any transfers that are left in the queue are saved as a session. You can load previous sessions each time when you start.
A queue of files or directories that you transfer often should be saved as a Template. Doing this will allow you to load up a template into the current session, which can then be processed. This will prevent you from having to queue up the same transfers over and over.
Templates are a way of setting up transfers that you will be doing repetitively or on a routine basis.
To create a template, queue up files as you normally would.
When you have a list of transfers in the queue that you are happy with, right click on the transfer manager, and click on the "Save As Template" item. This will save your current queue as a template.
Now, any time you want to transfer that same list of files, simply bring up the template window, and open a template. It will then be copied into the current session. Right click on the transfer menu, and click "process queue" to start the queue of transfers.
Templates are not included in Core FTP Lite.
Queues / Queue Manager
A queue is a list of pending (future) transfers that will be executed. In order to add transfers to the queue (Queue Manager), you must first be connected to a server. Once you have connected to a server, you can select files that you wish to transfer (see Uploading or Downloading). By placing files in the Queue Manager, you are indicating that you wish to transfer these files at some point in the future. They do not transfer until you right click on the transfer manager and select "Process Queue".
When queuing files, select the "Queue As" or "Queue" options instead of the upload/download functions. Your files will not be transferred until you start the queue.
If you have the compression option, you can also queue up files to be compressed later or schedule them for transfer at regular intervals.
The queue manager (by default) is found at the bottom of the screen. Right click on the queue manager to see a list of options and/or start the pending lists of transfers.
Primary Computer Service, Inc.